Castle/Château d’Allègre – in the heart of history !


As part of a beautiful walk with family, friends or alone, we invite you to discover the Château d’Allègre which is located in Allègre-les-Fumades. This monument whose date of construction is still unknown, but which we know is at least over 850 years old and one of the emblematic monuments in the history of our beautiful Gard region.

The start of the walk is accessible just five minutes from the Domaine and offers you on arriving at the belvedere, a complete panorama, which extends from Mont Bouquet to the peaks of the Monts d’Ardèche including the Pic Saint-Loup, the Aigoual, the Gard Cévennes, Mont Lozère, the Gardon plain and the Cèze.

As you feel it, you can continue your beautiful walk and discover the Chapelle St Saturnin located about 30 minutes of additional walk. During your getaway, you may have the chance to come across the legendary goat who has been living alone between the castle and the chapel for a few years already!

By organizing a medieval festival every year which takes place at the Château itself every 3rd Saturday of July, the Association for the Protection of the Château d’Allègre brings these vestiges of time back to life. Other local heritage protection associations will be present, such as the Castellas de Bouquet association or those of the Château de Montalet. A great opportunity to immerse yourself in history in a good festive and warm atmosphere.

Published on : 18 March 2022.

Le château d’Allègre – au cœur de l’histoire !


Dans le cadre d’une belle balade en famille, entre amis ou en solo, nous vous invitons à partir à la découverte du Château d’Allègre qui se trouve à Allègre-les-Fumades. Ce monument dont la date de construction reste encore inconnue, mais dont on sait qu’il est au moins vieux de plus de 850 ans et l’un des monuments emblématiques de l’histoire de notre belle région du Gard.

Le départ de la balade est accessible à seulement cinq minutes du Domaine et vous offre en arrivant sur le belvédère, un panorama complet, qui s’étend du Mont Bouquet jusqu’aux sommets des Monts d’Ardèche en incluant le Pic Saint-Loup, l’Aigoual, les Cévennes gardoises, le Mont Lozère, la plaine du Gardon et de la Cèze.

Si l’envie vous dit, vous pourrez continuer votre belle balade et découvrir la Chapelle St Saturnin situé à environ 30 minutes de marche supplémentaire. Au cours de votre escapade, vous aurez peut-être la chance de croiser le légendaire bouc qui vit en solitaire entre le château et la chapelle depuis déjà quelques années déjà !

En organisant chaque année une fête médiévale qui se déroule au Château même et qui a lieu tous les 3emes samedis du mois de juillet, l’Association de Sauvegarde du Château d’Allègre redonne vie à ces vestiges du temps. D’autres associations locales de protection du patrimoine seront présentes comme l’association du Castellas de Bouquet ou ceux du Château de Montalet. Une belle occasion de se replonger dans l’histoire dans une bonne ambiance festive et chaleureuse.

Publié le : 18 mars 2022.