The Pont du Gard – the remains of time !


(c) picture : Aurélio Rodriguez

The Pont du Gard (on the communes of Vers-Pont-du-Gard, left bank and Remoulins, right bank), at about 40 minutes from our Domaine, is a bridge-aqueduct built by the Romans in the 1st century A.D. It was built by nearly a thousand men in only five years ! This grandiose monument is classified as a Historic Monument and is listed as a World Heritage Site by Unesco.

It is at the same time, the highest known bridge-aqueduct of the Roman world, but also one of the best-preserved Roman vestiges in the world. It is the only example of an ancient three-story bridge still standing today, and its engineering testifies to the extraordinary mastery of the builders of the time.

Today, we know that this aqueduct was not a vital necessity, but rather a prestigious work, intended to supply the thermal baths, gardens and other fountains of the city.

To discover this magnificent monument and the museum dedicated to it in more detail, we suggest you enjoy an excursion and go on a tour, free or guided, available every day and all year round. The visit is accessible to people with reduced mobility with the provision of wheelchairs, if necessary, and is free on presentation of a receipt for young people under 18 years in the family, for students, people with disabilities, and one accompanying person per disabled person.

For more information and to reserve a ticket at a lower cost than on the spot, go to pontdugard.fr

Published on : 5 May 2022.

Le Pont du Gard – les vestiges du temps !


(c) photo : Aurélio Rodriguez

Le Pont du Gard (sur les communes de Vers-Pont-du-Gard, rive gauche et Remoulins, rive droite), à 40 minutes de notre Domaine, est un pont-aqueduc construit par les Romains au 1er siècle de notre ère il a été réalisé par près d’un millier d’hommes en seulement cinq ans ! Ce monument grandiose est classé au titre des Monuments Historiques et est inscrit sur la liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l’Unesco.

Il est à la fois, le plus haut pont-aqueduc connu du monde romain, mais également l’un des vestiges romains le mieux conservé au monde. Il est le seul exemple de pont antique à trois étages encore debout aujourd’hui et témoigne par son ingénierie de l’extraordinaire maîtrise des constructeurs de l’époque.

Aujourd’hui, nous savons que cet aqueduc n’était pas une nécessité vitale, mais plutôt un ouvrage de prestige, destiné à l’alimentation des thermes, bains, jardins et autres fontaines de la ville.

Pour découvrir plus en détail ce magnifique monument ainsi que le musée qui lui est dédié, nous vous proposons de faire une excursion et de partir en visite, libre ou guidée, disponible tous les jours et toute l’année. La visite est accessible aux personnes en situation de mobilité réduite avec la mise à disposition de fauteuils roulant si besoin et est gratuite sur présentation d’un justificatif pour les jeunes de moins de 18 ans dans le cadre familial, pour les étudiants, les personnes en situation de handicap, ainsi qu’à un accompagnant par personne handicapée.

Pour plus d’informations et pour la réservation d’un billet à moindre coût que sur place, rendez-vous sur le site pontdugard.fr

Publié le : 5 mai 2022.